The Energy Detective Forums
May 23, 2018, 06:04:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: New TED Support forum launched!!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help! I had to replace my circuit breaker and CT won't fit over 'power bar'
drpulis
Newbie
*
Posts: 41


« on: December 18, 2014, 04:44:12 AM »

I had my new TED Pro Home running just great for past few weeks.  However, my main Breaker Panel had to be replaced and we did that today.  The power in from utility is NOT a round cable anymore.  It is a 'bar' approximately 3/4 inch wide and maybe 1/8 inch thick.

My 200A core CT will not fit around this bar.  What options to I have? Cry
Logged

Started Installation/upgrade to TED Pro Home:  Nov 2014
 
  MTU1, NET, with 2 Spyders, Entire Main Panel
  MTU2, Generation
  MTU3, with 2 Spyders, Entire Sub Panel in Main House
  MTU4, 1 Spyder, Separate Cottage and Home Office
Bixente
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2016, 02:43:00 PM »

I had this problem -- the bracket for my main power panel needed a CT with .75 inch opening, but thin enough to fit into it.
Here's what I found (and did)...

There's a  750 CT that fits the service panel bracket perfectly. It's from Aim Dynamics. 303-772-9100 (ask for Joe or Victor @ 141 or 140)
Magnelab has stuff that will work, too, but I'm just a small fry. I'm sure they'd be happy to sell me box loads (but I just need two).

B
Logged
Support7
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 458


« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2016, 12:30:15 PM »

We also have 400A CT's that are available in standard (1 in. inside diameter) and large (1.25 in. inside diameter) that can be used when the 200A (0.06 in.) will not fit.

Standard 400A CT: http://www.theenergydetective.com/400ampct.html

Large 400A CT: http://www.theenergydetective.com/400amplarge.html
Logged

benjatelcom
Newbie
*
Posts: 10


« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2016, 10:51:19 PM »

Do we know what the 200A CT's internal burden resistor value is?
Logged
dtripl01
Newbie
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2018, 11:47:44 AM »

I have the same problem.  I moved houses and now my new house uses a breaker bar.  The 750 large CT will not fit.  Are there any other options like use a coil?
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!