Author Topic: Stuck with 2.395 kW  (Read 2434 times)

durango2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Stuck with 2.395 kW
« on: August 05, 2015, 05:18:03 AM »
 ???
I  am installing a new Ted Pro with the following issue:

1.  kW reading is negative:
     Checked MTUs, changed A-B to B-A, reversed MTUs, flip over of MTUs, with the same negative value. 
     Changed MTU calibration to -1.000 kW Adjust = now kW is positive.
2.  After a couple of hours, kW is at 2.395, fixed at this value
3.  Verified signal on Gateway, seems OK
4.  Turned on Oven, AC, water Heater, reading is the same 2.395kW
5.  Sent a Restart command = reading the same
6.  unplug both MTUs (no MTUs) = reading the same
7.  Spider seems to be working OK as there are some measurements with CTs.
8 . History shows NET @ 2.4 kWh all day long, spyder shows some readings

Help.  What else should I check?
 ??? ??? ??? ??? ???

durango2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Stuck with 2.395 kW
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2015, 05:24:32 AM »
from the Statistics Page:

ECC Placeholder Page
MTU 1
MTU 2
MTU 3
MTU 4
Voltage (0.1V):
1236
Current (0.1A):
0 00
00 0
00 0
00 0
Active Power (W):
2395
Apparent Power (VA):
2476
0
0
0
PF Avg (0.1%):
967
0
0
0
Modulation:
DCSK6 (SM)
UNK0
UNK0
UNK0
SQ:
37
00
00
00
MTU Rec:
14060
0
0
0
MTU Skp:
3509
0
0
0
Min Count:
235
0
0
0
Man Cal:
-1000/1000
1000/1000
1000/1000
1000/1000
Last Timestamp:
1438736820
0
0
0
Last Value (0.0001 WH):
509930986
0
0
0
MTU Id:
160EFB
000000
000000
000000
Phase Type:
195
0
0
0
Use TCP:
0
0
0
0
Version:
665
0
0
0
Uptime:
92930
0
0
0
3rd Party Post
USB
Date: 1438736921 LAST MTU ID: 000000 Uptime: 30202(0) seconds
Bytes Uploaded: Bootloader Bytes Sent: 0 (0 :0 : 0 : 0)

RussellH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Stuck with 2.395 kW
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2015, 10:29:34 PM »
I think you have noise on the line such that the Gateway can't hear the MTU.

durango2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Stuck with 2.395 kW
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2015, 12:42:36 AM »
Thanks, I will install a X10 filter and see if that helps

durango2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Stuck with 2.395 kW
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2015, 11:19:07 AM »
Correction:

original post should read CT instead of MTU (still confused with the terms) (CT601B)

"Checked MTUs, changed A-B to B-A, reversed MTUs, flip over of MTUs, with the same negative value. "

should read:

"Checked CTs, changed A-B to B-A, reversed CTs, flip over of CTs, with the same negative value." 

etc.

Sorry for the mix up

durango2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Stuck with 2.395 kW
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2015, 02:42:32 AM »
Installed a X10 filter, the R-T KW usage dropped from 2.395 kW (fixed) to more realistic usage, showing according to appliances usage.
The kW usage is still negative, so I left the -1.0000 multiplier.  ???
Now I will start calibrating to get a better idea of my electric bill.

Thanks RusellH for your tip.


RussellH

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Stuck with 2.395 kW
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2015, 09:56:21 PM »
The kW usage is still negative, so I left the -1.0000 multiplier.  ???

You're probably running "Adjusted Load".  Possible fixes:

  • Set MTU to "Load" (it takes the absolute value of the MTU).
  • Turn clamps over so the dots face the opposite way.
  • Swap clamps between wires
  • Move voltage sense wire(s) between phases
For the last 3, make sure you do only one of them.