Author Topic: I am new to energy monitoring, need advice....  (Read 4408 times)

scyto

I am new to energy monitoring, need advice....
« on: April 30, 2014, 12:07:19 AM »
Hi All,
I just discovered TED.  I was in the middle of researching a Brultech GEM but due to a number issues started to look for other options.  The TED Home Pro looks like a super product.

• I know that with 2 MTU's and 4 Spyders I can monitor 32 circuits.  I have ~37 circuits in my box.  Is it possible to aggregate circuits in some way.  For example having multiple CT's on a single spyder channel?
  • Is there any chance that the Home Pro can be upgraded to work with 3 MTUs?  Is it a physical restriction or just a software / firmware restriction?
  • If you have any more advice to offer I will greatly appreciate it!

Support7

• Administrator
Re: I am new to energy monitoring, need advice....
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2014, 12:13:57 AM »
Hello scyto,

Thanks for your question! The TED Pro systems can have a maximum of 4 MTUs and 4 spyders.

Best Regards,

TED Forum Support

scyto

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2014, 02:08:07 AM »
Hello scyto,

Thanks for your question! The TED Pro systems can have a maximum of 4 MTUs and 4 spyders.

Best Regards,

TED Forum Support

Thanks for the reply.  I understand what is supported today.  I am trying to understand the capacity of the system for growth and whether there is a workaround.

In terms of workaround is there anyway to double up on the spyder channel (for example wire two or three CTs to a single pair of pins on the side of the spyder to aggregate two or three circuits) - this can be done on the GEM and is a way to ensure that all circuits in a panel can be monitored.