Author Topic: data wont post website  (Read 5700 times)

dannyted

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Energy Monitor Blog
data wont post website
« on: March 21, 2011, 06:33:45 PM »
Hi, I have the data posting to my webserver on my home subnet.  However when i put the link to my website i keep getting an error from ted saying it can't connect to my webserver.  I am able to connect via my web browser to my link http://mywebsite.com/ted/act.xml but ted keeps saying it is not there. 

Do you have any suggestions on how to debug I suspect some type of dns issue, but I dont know how to get more info from the ted device than the pop up it gives me.

Thanks!

btw my ted device is connected to google power meter and has been for a year with now problem so it is definitely able to access the internet.
My Energy Blog - http://energymonitorblog.com
     --A site dedicated to discussing power saving information.

My Personal Blog - http://dannymullen.net

MyTed5000 - http://myted5k.com/danny/
     --Live Data from my ted5000

Like me on Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/EnergyMonitorB

TedDev

  • TED Software Developent
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: data wont post website
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2011, 06:50:08 PM »
Also check to make sure you don't have any extra spaces in your xml tags in your act.xml file. We don't have a true xml parser on the gateway and find the data via string matching.

So, we can see "<PostServer>" but not "<PostServer   >"

If you want to post (or PM) the URL to your act.xml, I'd be happy to test it for you.

dannyted

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Energy Monitor Blog
Re: data wont post website
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2011, 02:27:13 PM »
Sent you a pm?
My Energy Blog - http://energymonitorblog.com
     --A site dedicated to discussing power saving information.

My Personal Blog - http://dannymullen.net

MyTed5000 - http://myted5k.com/danny/
     --Live Data from my ted5000

Like me on Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/EnergyMonitorB

TedDev

  • TED Software Developent
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: data wont post website
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2011, 06:42:41 AM »
I got a 405:Method not allowed response back from your server. The TED uses a POST command to retrieve the act.xml so you may want to make sure that is enabled on the server for that file. GET seems to work fine.


dannyted

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Energy Monitor Blog
Re: data wont post website
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2011, 07:52:03 AM »
Once the TED is enabled dont you use post to post the data?  If so then post is enabled.  I am currently posting data to my domain, I just have to activate off my local server.

If you tried to post data to my server that would have failed, I have it setup to allow only data from my gwid.  But the activation should have worked correct?

« Last Edit: April 16, 2011, 08:01:38 AM by dannyted »
My Energy Blog - http://energymonitorblog.com
     --A site dedicated to discussing power saving information.

My Personal Blog - http://dannymullen.net

MyTed5000 - http://myted5k.com/danny/
     --Live Data from my ted5000

Like me on Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/EnergyMonitorB

TedDev

  • TED Software Developent
  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 158
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: data wont post website
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2011, 05:35:16 PM »
We use a POST to access both the act.xml file and postData.php files.   If you look at your TED5000's stats page (http://ted5000/stat.htm) you'll see the response code give to you by your act.xml file under the "3rd party post" section. In my test, I was getting a 405 response back from the server when I tried to post the original activation data to the act.xml file. That seems the one that needs to be set up to be accessed via POST on the server.

dannyted

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • Energy Monitor Blog
Re: data wont post website
« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2011, 08:08:47 AM »
I have it working now thanks for the help.  I misunderstood the instructions here: http://forums.theenergydetective.com/index.php/topic,4.0.html .

I was posting an actual xml file on my domain server instead of receiving the post data and outputting an xml output.   What confused me is that that method worked fine on my development web server, but it has little to no security turned on. 
My Energy Blog - http://energymonitorblog.com
     --A site dedicated to discussing power saving information.

My Personal Blog - http://dannymullen.net

MyTed5000 - http://myted5k.com/danny/
     --Live Data from my ted5000

Like me on Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/pages/EnergyMonitorB