The Energy Detective Forums

General Category => Developer Support => Topic started by: rknapp on September 14, 2011, 11:18:24 PM

Title: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: rknapp on September 14, 2011, 11:18:24 PM
The XML returns the single wire MTU voltage while
the raw returns the 2 wire.


XML   1145
RAW  2290

If I am using raw I can divide by 2 but what happens if the person only hooks
up one of the power leads on the mtu?

Would something like

if(voltage > 150)
   then voltage = voltage/2

be valid for all cases?


Title: Re: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: rknapp on September 14, 2011, 11:25:27 PM
To help clarify,

xml seems to return black/white lead voltage,
raw seems to return black/red lead voltage.

Title: Re: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: TedDev on September 15, 2011, 12:24:30 AM
XML and RAW return the exact same values. The only difference is formatting.
Title: Re: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: rknapp on September 15, 2011, 01:15:58 AM
So what am I missing,

XML

<SECOND>
<MTU>0</MTU>
<DATE>09/14/2011 17:10:51</DATE>
<POWER>6372</POWER>
<COST>62</COST>
<VOLTAGE>1116</VOLTAGE>
</SECOND>

RAW
CwkOEQoz5BgAAD4AAAC5CA==

Decode Raw
(11, 9, 14, 17, 10, 51, 6372, 62, 2233)


Everything is identical other then the voltage, which is exactly double in the
raw. Can't see how I could misdecode one value and have it exactly double the
voltage. Can someone else decode the raw and see what they get for voltage.



Gateway Version 1.0.406
Daughterboard Version 1.0.48
Footprints Version 1.0.223
MTU Version 1.0.57
Title: Re: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: rknapp on September 15, 2011, 01:43:42 AM
Did as I suggested and flipped off the breaker for the red lead of the MTU, only white and black hooked up.
Now on xml, voltage is only 550, and power is halfed, Raw shows the half power as well, but now
shows the correct voltage, the footprints now reports only 55volts and half the watts.


<SECOND>
<MTU>0</MTU>
<DATE>09/14/2011 17:40:04</DATE>
<POWER>3128</POWER>
<COST>31</COST>
<VOLTAGE>550</VOLTAGE>
</SECOND>

CwkOESgEOAwAAB8AAABNBA==
(11, 9, 14, 17, 40, 4, 3128, 31, 1101)
Title: Re: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: TedDev on September 15, 2011, 03:42:37 AM
Sorry, misread your original post.

If your TED is configured for 2-wire only, then you will need to double the voltage in your code.
Title: Re: XML vrs RAW Voltage
Post by: rknapp on September 15, 2011, 04:01:05 AM
Didn't remember those settings, mine is configured for 3 wire, but still have the problem that the
voltage is not returned consistently between xml and raw. So voltage is 1 'phase' value in the xml @120
and 2 'phase' value in raw @240 and first reply said they were returning same 'data' so I figured
this must be a bug, I can code for it, just thought I would report it.


Ron