Author Topic: DHCP hostname  (Read 2157 times)

tlveik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +2/-0
DHCP hostname
« on: December 24, 2016, 03:49:52 PM »
Is there any way to get the TED5000 gateway to display its hostname in my router's DHCP table?  That entry is just blank.

Tom

Support7

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 472
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: DHCP hostname
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2016, 02:51:24 PM »
I'm not completely familiar with this so I can't give an exact solution but I can attempt to point you in the right direction. I believe what is happening is a problem with the Reverse Address Resolution due to an incorrectly configured DNS. The DNS on your router is typically configured or provided by your ISP. To attempt to resolve this you can change your DNS settings to googles public DNS servers instead of the supplied ISP's. This is technically beyond the scope of support we offer so it's a try at your own risk and I will provide the links to some relevant information below that I found. I can't say for sure that this will work either but I can say that there is a hostname provided for the DHCP protocol by the TED device and sometimes it recognizes correctly but aside from my previous guess I wouldn't be able to explain further because it is dealing with protocols and configurations beyond the TED system.

https://superuser.com/questions/465915/where-does-client-name-come-from-in-the-dhcp-client-table-on-router
https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc2132#section-3.14
http://tunecomp.net/google-dns-8-8-8-8/

TED Support
www.theenergydetective.com

tlveik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: DHCP hostname
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2016, 09:20:23 PM »
Well it looks like I'm out of luck.  My router doesn't allow changing DNS servers.  It will only use those provided by my ISP.

Not a big deal.  My LAN DHCP list isn't so big that that I can't figure out who all the entries belong to.

Tom